When a dataset has multiple editors, only one editor at a time can commit certain changes to the dataset. This prevents data and metadata from getting out of sync.
How to unlock/lock a dataset
Dataset editors will see a lock icon near the upper-right corner:
- — Unlocked
- — Locked
Some actions require the dataset to be unlocked. If the dataset is locked you can unlock it by clicking on the icon. If another user currently has the dataset locked, you will see a warning that this action will lock the dataset for them.
You can lock the dataset by clicking the icon again. This will allow other users to unlock the dataset without seeing a warning that you have it locked.
Actions that require the dataset to be unlocked will prompt you to unlock the dataset when you attempt to perform them.